The Astronomy Department of The Physics Institute of the Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul (UFRGS) is an outstanding Astronomy teaching, research and outreach centre in the state of Rio Grande do Sul with 11 staff. The Department has over 40 researchers among active and retired associate professors, postdocs, graduate and undergraduate research students who are active in developing teaching, research, outreach and administrative tasks.

Recent news

Prêmio Pesquisador Gaúcho 2016

Thaisa Storchi Bergmann é agraciada com o prêmio Pesquisador Gaúcho 2016 na Área de Física e Astronomia: http://www.fapergs.rs.gov.br/

Prêmio Beatriz Barbuy

O professor Alan Alves Brito recebe o prêmio Beatriz Barbuy da Sociedade Astronômica Brasileira http://www.sab-astro.org.br/page-1862301

Emeritus professor for Edemundo da Rocha Vieira

The achievements of Edemundo da Rocha Vieira are recognized at UFRGS with the title of emeritus professor: http://www.ufrgs.br/ufrgs/noticias/primeiro-astrofisico-da-ufrgs-recebe-titulo-de-professor-emerito