Policies and Procedures

The Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul has a Library System (SBUFRGS) consisting of 32 libraries distributed on 6 campi. The System has: a Central Library, responsible for the technical coordination; a school library; a United Nations Depository Library and 29 branch libraries with collections in all areas of knowledge related to UFRGS courses.

Our libraries offer many information services to the university community (students, teachers, administrative staff) and to the outside community. Among them, home loan, access to e-books and other resources, user training in the use of information resources and support to teaching, research and extension activities.

SBUFRGS has several common policies and procedures for the development of collections, the representation of documents in the institutional bibliographic catalog and for the service to its users. For this purpose a web interface was developed, called Document @, to make the manuals available with the common guidelines to be followed, related to online catalog SABi and Lume – Digital Repository of UFRGS.