Morocco requests to join ECOWAS


Via Marocco World News

Morocco has expressed its interest in joining the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS). Morocco’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Cooperation said on Friday that the country has informed the President of Liberia and the current President of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS), Ellen Johnson Sirleaf that it “seeks to join this regional group as a full member.”Morocco’s decision comes from King Mohammed VI in the “the royal tour in Africa and particularly in the states of West Africa.The decision aligns with Morocco’s diplomacy goals in Africa, “which culminated in Morocco’s return to the African union”.ECOWAS has fifteen member countries which include Cote d’Ivoire, Benin, Mali, Burkina Faso, Senegal, Togo, Guinea-Bissau, Niger, Nigeria, Liberia, Sierra Leone, Gambia, Ghana, Cape Verde, and Guinea.

Read more here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *